Consequences and what to do if involved in a Motorcycle Accident Law in Florida
Motorcycle accidents are not only a physical danger but can also create financial difficulties. If a person is involved in a motorcycle accident in the State of Florida then he is subject to numerous additional laws, regulations and insurance requirements imposed by the State and Federal authorities. According to a report by the National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration, there were a total of 562 motorcycle associated fatalities in Florida in the year 2006. This is the highest number of motorcycle related deaths in any other state of USA.
The liable parties for a specific accident are determined by the state laws and special circumstances. Being a “comparative” state Florida believes that the financial liabilities are proportional to fault. The deciding factors for the fault are speed, road conditions, alcohol/drug influence, driver fatigue and weather. Attorneys experienced in Florida’s laws on motorcycle accidents are expert at determining the person at fault for each incident.
According to State law, riders and drivers under 21 are required to wear a helmet. Those who are 21 years old or older have the choice of not wearing a helmet but they must be medically insured for up to $10,000. This requirement may sound unreasonable to you but when you consider the fact that helmets reduce the chances of a fatal head injury by 40 percent, it makes sense. Since head injuries are one of the top reasons for motorcycle accident related deaths. After passing the current helmet exemption law and repealing the previous law that enforced helmets for drivers of all ages, the number of motorcycle related deaths increased by 81 percent.
In Florida, motorcycle riders must acquire either a dedicated motorcycle license or a motorcycle endorsement on their current driver’s license to drive any motorcycle that has a 50cc or larger engine. Motorcycle riders below the age of 21 are required to complete a safety course before they are awarded either type of license. Those motorists who are 21 or older can be exempted from the safety course if they pass the knowledge and skills test.
Insurance is not a requirement to register for a license in Florida but in the event of an accident, those involved are liable for physical and property damage suffered during the accident. The motorcycle drivers should also be insured for personal injuries so they can keep their motorcycle license and prevent their motorcycle from being suspended.
Have You Been in a Motorcycle Accident within Florida?
If you have been in a motorcycle accident within the territory of Florida, you should contact a lawyer expert in Florida motorcycle accident law at once. The experienced legal professional is well-aware of the ins and outs of State law and insurance rules so he/she will make sure you are properly compensated for property damage and injury. To get your case evaluated by our experienced attorneys you can fill out the case form and get a free consultation without any obligation.